How to Deactivate PSP

0
102
How to Deactivate PSP

The PlayStation Portable was released in 2004 in Japan, and it remains a great companion for playing video games on the console. While many other advanced and more feature-rich consoles have made it to the market since PSP, it is still an esteemed console for PlayStation users.

It is a well-known fact for any PlayStation console user that you need a Sony Entertainment Network account to access your games on all PlayStation devices. You can use a single account to activate many different devices and consoles, allowing you to play all the games you purchased on your desired console.

Since all of your purchases and games are available to any device with your account logged in, it is recommended to deactivate your account from any devices you are giving away. In this guide, we will go through the process of deactivating your Sony Entertainment Network account from your PSP to ensure safety. Here’s how to deactivate PSP at home with just your Wi-Fi connection.

How to Deactivate PSP At Home

Requirements:

  • Your PlayStation Portable (PSP)
  • Strong Internet Connection

Step 1: On your PSP’s home screen, you will find a tab called “PlayStation Network.” Click on the tab, and you will find a list of icons to choose from. From this menu, select the “Account Management” icon to proceed.

Step 2: When you click on the “Account Management” icon, you might be prompted to sign in to your Sony Entertainment Network account. Sign in to your PSN account using your credentials.

Step 3: Once you’re signed in to your account, select the “System Activation” icon from your account. You will get an option to choose between “Game” and “Video.” These are the types of content that you want to deactivate on your PSP.

Step 4: Choose one of the options from “Game” or “Video” and then tap the “Deactivate System” button to deactivate the PSP from your account.

Step 5: Now that you’ve deactivated one type of content from your PSP, repeat the steps mentioned above to deactivate the other type also. The only thing different will be Step 4, where you will choose the option you did not choose before.

Step 6: Once you’re done deactivating both kinds of content from your PSP, your PSP will be entirely disconnected and deactivated from your Sony Entertainment Network account.

Remotely Deactivate your PSP

What if you don’t have access to your PlayStation console and wish to deactivate the devices connected to your account remotely? Here’s how you can remotely deactivate PSP from your web browser.

Caution: You can only deactivate your PSP once every six months.

Step 1: Log in to your account on a web browser.

Step 2: In Account Management, go to the “Other Settings” section.

Step 3: Select “Device Management” from Other Settings. Click on “PlayStation Consoles,” and you will see a button “Deactivate All Devices.”

Step 4: Select “Deactivate All Devices” to deactivate all other devices along with your PSP from your account.

You might feel like deactivating all devices from your account is too much. However, when you’re not equipped with your PSP or other PlayStation consoles, deactivating all devices will barely take a minute. You can then re-add the devices you wish to use by signing in to your account on those devices.

Since PSN only allows three devices to be connected to an account, it might be possible that you want to deactivate your old PSP to activate your newer consoles like the PS4 or PS5 into your account. You can also use your PS3, if you have one, to deactivate your PSP from your account.